## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Jasmine Cervantes has been named valedictorian of 2 the Class of 2017 at Sharpstown High School in Houston, and she 3 indeed merits special recognition for receiving this significant 4 honor; and

5 WHEREAS, Earning the title of valedictorian requires not only 6 intellect and aptitude but also four years of dedication to the 7 highest academic standards; in securing her place as the 8 top-ranking student in her class, Ms. Cervantes demonstrated a 9 thorough understanding of a wide range of subjects, and her 10 attainment of this coveted distinction is the crowning achievement 11 of a notable high school career; and

12 WHEREAS, In addition to excelling academically, Ms. Cervantes has participated in myriad extracurricular 13 14 activities, including the Windrose Project, the National Hispanic Collegiate World Series, the 15 Institute and University 16 Interscholastic League Literary Criticism and One-Act Play competitions; she has also shared her time and energies with her 17 youth group and as a volunteer with Trees for Houston; moreover, she 18 has received a number of accolades, including a DePauw University 19 20 merit award and the Clark University Jonas Clark Scholarship; and

21 WHEREAS, During her years at Sharpstown High School, Jasmine 22 Cervantes has earned the respect and admiration of her teachers and 23 classmates, and her exceptional scholastic ability and commitment 24 to excellence have opened the way to a bright and promising future

1

1 for this outstanding young Texan; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Jasmine Cervantes on graduating as 4 the valedictorian of the Sharpstown High School Class of 2017 and 5 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success as she 6 begins the next exciting chapter of her life; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Cervantes as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Wu

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2012 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House