H.R. No. 2012

By: Wu

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Jasmine Cervantes has been named valedictorian of 2 the Class of 2017 at Sharpstown High School in Houston, and she 3 indeed merits special recognition for receiving this significant 4 honor; and

5 WHEREAS, Earning the title of valedictorian requires not only 6 intellect and aptitude but also four years of dedication to the 7 highest academic standards; in securing her place as the 8 top-ranking student in her class, Ms. Cervantes demonstrated a 9 thorough understanding of a wide range of subjects, and her 10 attainment of this coveted distinction is the crowning achievement 11 of a notable high school career; and

12 WHEREAS, In addition to excelling academically, 13 Ms. Cervantes has participated in myriad extracurricular activities, including the Windrose Project, the National Hispanic 14 Collegiate World Series, 15 Institute and the University 16 Interscholastic League Literary Criticism and One-Act Play competitions; she has also shared her time and energies with her 17 youth group and as a volunteer with Trees for Houston; moreover, she 18 has received a number of accolades, including a DePauw University 19 20 merit award and the Clark University Jonas Clark Scholarship; and

21 WHEREAS, During her years at Sharpstown High School, Jasmine 22 Cervantes has earned the respect and admiration of her teachers and 23 classmates, and her exceptional scholastic ability and commitment 24 to excellence have opened the way to a bright and promising future

1

H.R. No. 2012

1 for this outstanding young Texan; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Jasmine Cervantes on graduating as 4 the valedictorian of the Sharpstown High School Class of 2017 and 5 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success as she 6 begins the next exciting chapter of her life; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Cervantes as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.