H.R. No. 2039

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The boys' basketball team of Thurgood Marshall High
- 2 School in Missouri City enjoyed an outstanding 2016-2017 season,
- 3 advancing all the way to the University Interscholastic League 5A
- 4 state championship game on March 11 at the Alamodome in San Antonio;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, After finishing as the runner-up in District 23-5A,
- 7 the Buffalos reeled off consecutive playoff victories over Houston
- 8 Sterling, Humble, Port Arthur Memorial, and Waco University High
- 9 Schools; in the regional finals, Marshall overwhelmed Manvel by a
- 10 score of 82-57, earning a place in the state tournament for the
- 11 first time in school history; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Taking the court for their semifinal contest against
- 13 Northwest High School, the Buffs continued their dominant play,
- 14 taking command of the game with a 13-0 scoring run in the second
- 15 quarter and going on to record an 82-59 win; that set up a
- 16 championship matchup with Mansfield Timberview High School in which
- 17 Marshall made a strong showing but ultimately fell short to bring
- 18 its season to a close; in recognition of their outstanding play,
- 19 senior guards Jabari Rice and Tajzmel Sherman earned spots on the
- 20 All-Tournament squad; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Marshall's achievements were the result of a true
- 22 team effort, and the Buffs also received valuable contributions
- 23 throughout the year from the other members of the roster: Ja'Markez
- 24 Christy, Daquazemarr Wyche, Peter Moton, Anthony Norman, Clayton

H.R. No. 2039

- 1 Ford, Dakota Thompson, Evan Cordones, Floyd Nzamba, Toby Martin,
- 2 Marcus Hopes, and John Walker III; the players were guided by head
- 3 coach Gary Nichols and assistant coaches Harvey Baker, Marcus Ebow,
- 4 Marcus Elder, Tristan Jones, and Stan Wilkins; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The talented student-athletes of the Marshall High
- 6 basketball team have demonstrated hard work and an unwavering
- 7 commitment to excellence, and they are a source of pride to their
- 8 classmates and their many supporters in the local community; now,
- 9 therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the Thurgood Marshall High School
- 12 boys' basketball team on its success during the 2016-2017 season
- 13 and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 14 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

Reynolds

H.R. No. 2039

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2039 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House