RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma Awareness Day is
taking place on May 17, 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, Each year, hundreds of children in the United States 4 are diagnosed with DIPG, a devastating and highly aggressive type 5 of childhood brain tumor; and

6 WHEREAS, Most commonly found in children between the ages of 7 five and nine, DIPG represents 10 to 20 percent of all pediatric 8 brain tumors and is the leading cause of childhood death due to 9 brain tumors; because the condition is difficult to treat, the 10 prognosis for patients with DIPG remains very poor, with a median 11 survival of just nine months from the time of diagnosis; and

12 WHEREAS, On December 10, 2016, Brock Hunter Fleming of Round 13 Rock lost his battle with DIPG at the age of seven; in response to 14 Brock's story and the experiences of other young people whose lives 15 were cut short by this terrible form of cancer, a coalition of 16 patient advocates across the state is taking action to raise 17 awareness of DIPG in conjunction with Brain Tumor Awareness Month 18 in May; and

WHEREAS, Developing effective treatment is crucial to giving children with DIPG hope for the future, and Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma Awareness Day provides a welcome opportunity to promote education about the condition and to encourage support for additional research; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

Legislature hereby recognize May 17, 2017, as Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma Awareness Day in memory of Brock Hunter Fleming and commend all those throughout the Lone Star State who are working in behalf of the children and families who have been affected by the disease.

Gonzales of Williamson

Oliverson

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2109 was adopted by the House on May 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House