## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The boys' basketball team of James Madison High 2 School in Dallas closed out the 2016-2017 season in triumphant fashion by claiming the University Interscholastic League 3A state 3 championship on March 11 at the Alamodome in San Antonio; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The Trojans combined a strong defense with precision shooting to go undefeated in district play, and they compiled an 6 overall season record of 28 wins and just 8 losses; during their 7 impressive playoff run, they dispatched opponents 8 from 9 Scurry-Rosser, Van Alstyne, Edgewood, Mount Vernon, and Ponder High Schools before advancing to the state tournament, where they earned 10 11 a dominant victory over Santa Rosa High School in the semifinals; 12 and 13 WHEREAS, The score remained close throughout the hard-fought 14 finale against Brock High School, but the Trojans overcame a halftime deficit and ultimately clinched a 42-36 win and the state 15 crown; the victory was led by Patrick Terry, who was named the 16 championship game's Most Valuable Player after tallying 18 points 17 and 10 rebounds; Mr. Terry was joined on the All-Tournament Team by 18 fellow Trojans JeMichael Bowens and Desmond Scott; and 19 20 WHEREAS, The squad also received valuable contributions 21 throughout the season from the other members of the roster: Steven Bagley, Quintarius Johnson, Mekiyel Hill, Marvelle Wilson, Marcus 22

Cobin-Hill, Jaylin Thibodeaux-Levels, Jamarus Elliot, Jacolby

Sims, Dye'Shun King, Donyea Jefferson, Derrious Kinney, Deaudea

23

24

## H.R. No. 2114

- 1 Choice, and Bakari Rabb; these talented student-athletes were ably
- 2 guided by head coach Damon Barnett and assistant coaches James
- 3 Spindle and Olivia Williams, and they further benefited from the
- 4 support of athletic trainer Charles Kaiser, statistician Kriston
- 5 Johnson, and managers Travion Jackson and De'Mondre Durrough; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Through a formidable combination of talent, skill,
- 7 and hard work, the Dallas Madison Trojans realized their
- 8 season-long goal of winning the state title, and the team and its
- 9 coaches and staff may take justifiable pride in a job well done;
- 10 now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the James Madison High School boys'
- 13 basketball team on winning the UIL 3A state championship and extend
- 14 to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for
- 15 continued success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives.

Johnson of Dallas

## H.R. No. 2114

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 2114
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2114 wa	s adopted by the House on May 18,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House