## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The boys' basketball team of Lincoln High School in
- 2 Dallas reached the ultimate level of achievement by winning the
- 3 University Interscholastic League 4A state championship on March
- 4 12, 2016; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Competing against Silsbee High School in the title
- 6 contest at the Alamodome in San Antonio, the Tigers took an early
- 7 lead and held off their opponents en route to a narrow 75-72
- 8 triumph, claiming the fourth boys' basketball championship in their
- 9 school's history and the first since 2002; the victory capped off a
- 10 memorable season in which the team won 11 of its last 12 games to
- 11 finish with an overall record of 24-14; and
- 12 WHEREAS, In the tournament final, Lincoln was led by Kortrijk
- 13 Miles, who notched 28 points and 11 rebounds and who was named the
- 14 game's Most Valuable Player; Mr. Miles was tapped for the
- 15 All-Tournament squad, along with teammates Kennedy Milton and
- 16 Jabari Richardson; in its quest for the state title, the team also
- 17 benefited from the determined efforts of the other members of the
- 18 roster: Adrian Baker, Lamarsay Austin, Tyree Sutton-Durham,
- 19 Tacorian Jones, Caleb Young, Demarcus Randle, Ashton Baker, Matthew
- 20 Wilson, Jeremiah Whitaker, Devonte Reese, O'shariek Wiseman, Artis
- 21 Brooks, and Anthony Nealon; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Head coach Cedric Patterson provided essential
- 23 leadership and inspiration to the Tigers, with additional guidance
- 24 being offered by assistant coaches Ashley Greer and Quinton

- 1 Stewart; and
- WHEREAS, Through a formidable combination of talent, skill,
- 3 and hard work, the Dallas Lincoln Tigers realized their season-long
- 4 goal of winning the state crown, and the team and its coaches and
- 5 staff may take justifiable pride in a job well done; now, therefore,
- 6 be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby congratulate the Lincoln High School boys'
- 9 basketball team on winning the 2016 UIL 4A state championship and
- 10 extend to everyone associated with the team sincere best wishes for
- 11 the future; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 14 House of Representatives.

Johnson of Dallas

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2115 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2017, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House