RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A number of talented young men and women have
- 2 provided indispensable support as legislative interns in the office
- 3 of State Representative Eric Johnson during the 85th Legislative
- 4 Session; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Since joining the staff, these young Texans have
- 6 handled a wide variety of challenging tasks, including reading,
- 7 analyzing, and researching bills and addressing the needs of
- 8 constituents; in addition to gaining valuable experience in the
- 9 field of public service, they have learned more about the
- 10 legislative process and the issues facing citizens of the Lone Star
- 11 State; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Helene Barnes, the daughter of Carol Greenfield and
- 13 Walton Barnes II and the stepdaughter of Keith Nordyke, is
- 14 currently pursuing a master's degree in educational administration
- 15 from The University of Texas at Austin; following her studies, she
- 16 looks forward to a career as an educational policy analyst or
- 17 consultant; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Andres Cerecero, the son of Jaime and Mirna
- 19 Cerecero, is a senior at UT-Austin, where he is earning his
- 20 bachelor's degree in government with a minor in Japanese; after
- 21 graduation, he plans to teach English in Japan for a year before
- 22 continuing his education at law school; and
- WHEREAS, The daughter of Jeff Dominguez and Stephanie Lara,
- 24 Brianna Dominguez is a sophomore at Texas A&M University; after

- H.R. No. 2116
- 1 completing her bachelor's degree in business marketing, she hopes
- 2 to either go on to earn her master's degree or to start her own
- 3 business; and
- WHEREAS, Aidan O'Neil, the son of Kelly and Holly O'Neil, is a
- 5 sophomore studying government and economics at UT-Austin; he plans
- 6 to continue his education at law school after completing his
- 7 bachelor's degree; and
- 8 WHEREAS, A freshman at St. Edward's University, Alejandro
- 9 Izaquirre is the son of Dilcia Maribel Brizuela and Maynor Bernardo
- 10 Izaguirre; he is currently pursuing his bachelor's degree in
- 11 political science, and he plans to participate in the Teach for
- 12 America program; and
- 13 WHEREAS, The daughter of Lamesha Roberts-Williams and
- 14 Michael Archie, Amahree Archie is a sophomore at UT-Austin, where
- 15 she is working toward a degree in government with a minor in African
- 16 and African diaspora studies; she hopes to attend law school in the
- 17 future; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Jacob Kowalski, the son of Kenneth Kowalski and
- 19 Willa Schlecht, is currently pursuing a master's degree in the
- 20 Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at UT-Austin; after
- 21 completing the program, he looks forward to a career in local
- 22 government; and
- WHEREAS, A senior at UT-Austin, Andi Leacock-Williams is the
- 24 daughter of Michael and Merle Bigini; she is working toward a
- 25 bachelor's degree in government and plans to continue her education
- 26 by pursuing graduate work in global policy studies and
- 27 international law; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Louisa Xie, the daughter of Qian Hu and Yiqiang Xie,
- 2 is currently a sophomore at UT-Dallas, where she studies
- 3 biochemistry; after graduation, she hopes to attend medical school;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, The members of this notable group have performed
- 6 their duties as legislative interns with great skill and diligence,
- 7 and they are indeed deserving of special recognition for their fine
- 8 work; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby commend the legislative interns who have served
- 11 in the office of State Representative Eric Johnson and extend to
- 12 them sincere best wishes for continued success in all their
- 13 endeavors; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 15 for Ms. Barnes, Mr. Cerecero, Ms. Dominguez, Mr. O'Neil,
- 16 Mr. Izaguirre, Ms. Archie, Mr. Kowalski, Ms. Leacock-Williams,
- 17 and Ms. Xie as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 18 Representatives.

Johnson of Dallas

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 2116 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House