H.R. No. 2117

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Joe A. Gonzalez (JAG) Education Is Our Freedom 2 GED College Scholarship Program is hosting its annual banquet on 3 July 25, 2017, in Corpus Christi; and

WHEREAS, Funds raised by this outstanding community event will support grants for deserving GED graduates in the Coastal Bend area who want to pursue a college degree; and

WHEREAS, The Education Is Our Freedom scholarship program was 7 founded by Joe Gonzalez, a longtime public servant and advocate for 8 9 education; Mr. Gonzalez is currently serving his second term as Nueces County commissioner for Precinct 2, having first been 10 11 elected to that office in 2010; he previously served for more than 12 two decades with the United States Department of Justice, and after retiring from the DOJ in 1999, he spent nine years as justice of the 13 14 peace for Precinct 1, Place 1, in Nueces County; he created the Education Is Our Freedom program in memory of the late Drs. Hector 15 16 P. Garcia, Cleo Garcia, and Xico Garcia, and since its establishment in 2005, some 1,000 scholarships have been awarded; 17 18 and

WHEREAS, Education is vital to the continued prosperity and dynamism of the Lone Star State, and through his scholarship program, Joe A. Gonzalez has demonstrated a noteworthy commitment helping prepare students to meet the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

H.R. No. 2117

Legislature hereby honor the Joe A. Gonzalez (JAG) Education Is Our Freedom GED College Scholarship Program on the occasion of its annual banquet and extend to all those involved in the fund-raiser sincere best wishes for a successful and memorable event; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the program as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 2117

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2117 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House