RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Tesfamichael Negussie has been named salutatorian
of the Class of 2017 at Margaret Long Wisdom High School in Houston,
and he indeed merits special recognition for receiving this
significant honor; and
WHEREAS, Earning the title of salutatorian requires not only

WHEREAS, Earning the title of salutatorian requires not only intellect and aptitude but also four years of dedication to the highest academic standards; in securing his place as one of the two top-ranking students in his class, Mr. Negussie demonstrated a thorough understanding of a wide range of subjects, with his favorites being history, government, and economics; his attainment of this coveted distinction is the crowning achievement of a notable high school career; and

WHEREAS, In addition to excelling academically, Mr. Negussie participated in numerous extracurricular activities, including debate and student council, and he also founded the Young Ethiopian Council; named an Upward Bound Youth of the Year and a recipient of the Robert E. Lee Einstein Award, he plans to study sociology and anthropology at Pomona College with scholarships from QuestBridge, the American Legion, and the Rotary Interact club; and

the American Legion, and the Rotary Interact club; and

WHEREAS, During his years at Wisdom High School, Tesfamichael

Negussie earned the respect and admiration of his teachers and
classmates, and his exceptional scholastic ability and commitment
to excellence have opened the way to a bright and promising future
for this outstanding young Texan; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2118

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Tesfamichael Negussie,
- 3 salutatorian of the Class of 2017 at Margaret Long Wisdom High
- 4 School, and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success
- 5 as he begins the next exciting chapter of his life; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Negussie as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Wu

H.R. No. 2118

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker of the House	

H.R. No. 2118

I certify that H.R. No. 2118 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House