H.R. No. 2128

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Rogers Pope Sr. has been named the 2017 Citizen of
- 2 the Year by the Rotary Club of Longview; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The chair and former chief executive officer of
- 4 Texas Bank and Trust, Rogers Pope has skillfully guided the bank's
- 5 impressive growth, which has helped fuel the prosperity of the
- 6 Longview area; today, TBT employs hundreds of area residents at
- 7 more than two dozen locations, and it has become a major business
- 8 and home mortgage lender; under Mr. Pope's guidance, the bank has
- 9 maintained a culture of excellence and good corporate citizenship,
- 10 and his accomplishments were recognized with his induction into the
- 11 Texas Bankers Hall of Fame in 2014; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Mr. Pope has given generously of his time and
- 13 expertise in numerous key roles; he has served as president of the
- 14 Rotary Club of Longview, the Longview Chamber of Commerce, and the
- 15 Longview Area Baylor Club; in addition, he has served on the boards
- 16 of many local organizations, including the Greater Longview United
- 17 Way, the Gregg County Division of the American Heart Association,
- 18 and the Better Business Bureau of East Texas; he is a valued member
- 19 of First Baptist Church of Longview; and
- WHEREAS, Having proven himself a business and civic leader of
- 21 great vision and ability, Rogers Pope may reflect with pride on his
- 22 successful efforts to make Longview an even better place in which to
- 23 live and work; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 2128

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Rogers Pope Sr. on his selection as
- 2 2017 Citizen of the Year by the Rotary Club of Longview and commend
- 3 him for his outstanding contributions; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Pope as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Dean

H.R. No. 2128

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2128 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House