RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Canadian High School girls' basketball team
- 2 reached the pinnacle of success by winning the University
- 3 Interscholastic League 3A state championship on March 4, 2017, at
- 4 the Alamodome in San Antonio; and
- 5 WHEREAS, After compiling an outstanding record of 26 wins and
- 6 just 3 losses during regular season play, the Lady Cats embarked on
- 7 a thrilling postseason run in which they dispatched teams from
- 8 Lubbock Roosevelt, Ballinger, Littlefield, Brock, and Wall High
- 9 Schools to secure a berth in the state tournament; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Canadian dominated Goliad High School to win its
- 11 semifinal round game before facing off against the squad from
- 12 Buffalo High School for the 3A crown; in the hard-fought
- 13 championship contest, the Lady Cats rallied from behind, forcing
- 14 three turnovers in the last 53 seconds of the game to clinch the
- 15 title with a dramatic 51-49 win; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, the Lady Cats
- 17 benefited throughout the year from the outstanding contributions
- 18 made by each member of the roster: Cinthia Morales, Haevyn Risley,
- 19 Kayla Brinkley, Avery Pennington, Vanessa Guthrie, Caroline Cook,
- 20 Isabelle Krehbeil, Taylor Dockray, Chloe Walser, Emily Alexander,
- 21 Brenda Hernandez, Salym Cook, Victoria Valenzuela, Leslie Jimenez,
- 22 Jordan Cochran, Taylor Altmiller, and Gysselle Velador; these
- 23 talented student athletes were guided by head coach Kevin
- 24 Richardson and assistant coaches Doug Boyd, Garrison Jones, and

H.R. No. 2178

- 1 Morgan Brady, and they received additional support from managers
- 2 Callie Dumbauld and Alice Abraham, trainer Neely Hutchinson,
- 3 statisticians Darcie Richardson and Sandy Chappell, and
- 4 videographer Jacob Richardson; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Winning a state title represents the culmination of
- 6 countless hours of hard work and an enduring commitment to
- 7 excellence, and the members of the Lady Cats basketball team have
- 8 become a source of great pride to their school and community; now,
- 9 therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the Canadian High School girls'
- 12 basketball team on winning the 2017 UIL 3A state championship and
- 13 extend to everyone associated with the team sincere best wishes for
- 14 the future; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

King of Hemphill

H.R. No. 2178

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Sp	eak	cer	of	the	Hou	ıse	
ed	by	the	е Н	ouse	on	May	22,

H.R. No. 2178

I certify that H.R. No. 2178 was adopted by the House on May 22, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House