RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, National Older Americans Month is being celebrated 2 in May 2017, and this observance provides an ideal opportunity to 3 recognize the Jefferson Outreach for Older People in San Antonio; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, A nonprofit organization, the Jefferson Outreach 6 for Older People works to help those 60 years of age or older who are 7 homebound, isolated, or physically frail in their quest to maintain 8 their independence and remain in their homes as long as possible; 9 and

WHEREAS, The services that Jefferson Outreach offers to area 10 11 seniors include meal and grocery delivery, transportation to 12 medical appointments, home repairs and lawn maintenance, and referrals, and the organization also hosts weekly lunch gatherings 13 14 and provides telephone reassurance calls to clients who may be coping with loneliness; Jefferson Outreach is funded entirely by 15 16 grants and by donations from churches, foundations, and individuals; its mission is carried out by a smaller, caring staff 17 and a team of volunteers, many of whom are seniors themselves; and 18

WHEREAS, The Jefferson Outreach for Older People endeavors to not only help senior citizens enjoy a better quality of life but also to instill in them a sense of well-being as valued members of the community, and all those associated with this outstanding organization may take pride in their significant contributions; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize the Jefferson Outreach for Older 3 People in San Antonio on the occasion of National Older Americans 4 Month and extend sincere appreciation to the organization's staff, 5 volunteers, and supporters; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Rodriguez of Bexar

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2181 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House