## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of Intocable are visiting the State Capitol 2 on May 17, 2017, and this occasion provides an ideal opportunity to 3 recognize this acclaimed norteño band for its accomplishments; and

WHEREAS, In the early 1990s, Ricky Javier Muñoz and René Orlando Martinez of Zapata founded Intocable, and they signed a record contract with EMI while they were still in high school; the group's third album, *Llévame Contigo*, soared to the top of the Regional Mexican album chart in 1996 and made the top five in the broader Latin category, setting the stage for a remarkable career; and

11 WHEREAS, Intocable expanded the audience for norteño by 12 incorporating elements from country music, rock, and pop, and over 13 the years, it has scored a host of number one hits, including 14 "Robarte un Beso," "Prometí," and "Tu Ausencia"; with legions of 15 fans in the United States and Mexico, the group has sold out large 16 venues in both countries, and in 2003, it set a record at Reliant 17 Stadium in Houston by drawing a crowd of more than 70,000; and

WHEREAS, Among myriad accolades, the group has received multiple Univision Premio Lo Nuestro awards, as well as a pair of Grammy awards for the albums *Intimamente* and *Classic*; the band's style has influenced numerous other Tejano and norteño acts, even as it has continued to explore new musical avenues; in 2010, *Billboard* magazine named it Mexican Regional Group of the Decade, and two years later, at a Dallas Cowboys home game, Intocable became

1

1 the first norteño band to play an NFL halftime show; and

2 WHEREAS, Intocable celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2015 3 with the release of the album *XX Aniversario en Vivo*; the band also 4 played a live global telecast that year and donated the proceeds to 5 St. Jude's Children's Hospital, and it went on to form a partnership 6 with the hospital to continue raising funds in its behalf; and

7 WHEREAS, Transcending its genre while remaining one of its 8 most influential artists, Intocable has enriched the cultural 9 heritage of the Lone Star State, and it has brought joy to 10 innumerable people over the course of more than two decades; now, 11 therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 13 Legislature hereby honor Intocable for its contributions to music 14 and extend to the members sincere best wishes for continued 15 success; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for the band as an expression of high regard by the Texas 18 House of Representatives.

Arévalo

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2207 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House