H.R. No. 2240

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sergeant D. L. Wilson, a safety education officer 2 with the Texas Department of Public Safety, performed an act of 3 extraordinary heroism in helping to save the life of a fellow Texan 4 on March 10, 2016; and

5 WHEREAS, Sergeant Wilson was driving on Interstate 35 in 6 Temple when he witnessed a FedEx truck collide with a concrete 7 barrier and erupt into flames; he immediately called for emergency 8 medical services before rushing to locate the driver, but he was 9 prevented from doing so by the fire that engulfed the vehicle; and

WHEREAS, Soon after, Sergeant Wilson spotted the driver attempting to crawl away from the cab; at that moment, a caring citizen arrived and helped Sergeant Wilson pull the driver clear of danger; miraculously, the victim survived, and he was soon transported to a nearby hospital; Sergeant Wilson was later honored with both the DPS Lifesaving Award and the FedEx Heroism Award; and

16 WHEREAS, Sergeant D. L. Wilson put himself in harm's way to 17 come to the aid of an individual in need, and his courageous and 18 skillful actions have distinguished him as an outstanding member of 19 his department and profession; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 21 Legislature hereby honor Sergeant D. L. Wilson for his role in 22 rescuing a motorist and extend to this exemplary officer sincere 23 best wishes for the future; and, be it further

24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

1

H.R. No. 22401 prepared for Sergeant Wilson as an expression of high regard by the2 Texas House of Representatives.

Lang

H.R. No. 2240

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2240

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2240 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House