## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Cypress Falls High School boys' basketball team 2 reached the pinnacle of success by claiming the 2017 University 3 Interscholastic League 6A state championship on March 11 at the 4 Alamodome in San Antonio; and

5 WHEREAS, The Golden Eagles compiled a stellar overall record of 35 wins and just 3 losses, capping off the year with a 25-game 6 7 winning streak and taking home the first boys' basketball championship in the school's history; during their impressive 8 postseason run, these determined athletes bested teams from Houston 9 Lamar and Fort Bend Travis High Schools before defeating the Sam 10 11 Houston Math, Science, and Technology Center and Humble Atascocita 12 and Fort Bend Bush High Schools to secure a spot in the state 13 tournament; and

14 WHEREAS, After winning their semifinal match against Dallas 15 Skyline High in triple overtime, the Eagles faced off against the 16 squad from San Antonio Wagner High School in the finale; in that 17 game, they rallied back from a deficit at the half and combined an 18 aggressive defense with clutch free-throw shooting to clinch the 19 state crown with a 63-57 win; and

20 WHEREAS, Pacing Cypress Falls in the title contest were 21 juniors Nigel Hawkins, who tallied 18 points and was named the 22 game's Most Valuable Player, and Trajan Wesley, who led all scorers 23 with 20 points; the team also received valuable contributions 24 throughout the year from the other members of the roster: Cameron

1

Adams, Andrew Nguyen, Anthony Dross, Zach Stephenson, Kendall Scott, Rayshawn House, Maitlond Wanza, Deshang Weaver, and Justin Skopal; the players were guided by head coach Richard Flores and assistant coaches Matt Symmank, Mick Hoffman, Kevin Suddendorf, and Chad Allen, and they received additional support from manager Thomas Burns, student trainers Kyle Partin and Al Leah Freeman, and head athletic trainers Erik Thompson and Courtnee Marin; and

8 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the 9 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering 10 commitment to excellence, and the Golden Eagles of Cypress Falls 11 High School will treasure the memory of this accomplishment for the 12 rest of their lives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Cypress Falls High School boys' basketball team on winning the 2017 UIL 6A state championship and extend to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 20 House of Representatives.

> Roberts Elkins Oliverson

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2244 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House