H.R. No. 2251

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Patrick Wallace is retiring as the administrator of 2 East Texas Medical Center of Athens in March 2017, drawing to a 3 close an exemplary tenure that has spanned more than a quarter 4 century; and

5 WHEREAS, After serving as the administrator of Graham General 6 Hospital for a decade, Pat Wallace joined the administration at 7 ETMC Athens in 1988, just two years after the hospital opened; in 8 the ensuing decades, he supported its tremendous growth, and his 9 outstanding efforts have had a positive impact on the community at 10 large, as health care constitutes a major industry in Athens; and

11 WHEREAS, Under his skilled leadership, the ETMC Athens 12 medical staff has expanded twofold, with 45 doctors representing a variety of specialties, including family medicine, obstetrics, 13 14 cardiology, gastroenterology, and orthopedics; Mr. Wallace also oversaw a renovation and expansion project that doubled the size of 15 the hospital building in 2011, and he played a key role in the 16 construction of a new gastrointestinal lab as well as ETMC Cedar 17 Creek Lake, a 30,000 square-foot outpatient facility in south 18 Henderson County; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Through his professionalism, expertise, and 21 tireless work, Patrick Wallace has greatly benefited East Texas 22 Medical Center of Athens and area residents, and he may indeed 23 reflect with pride on a career well spent as he embarks on the next 24 exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2251

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Patrick Wallace on his retirement 3 from East Texas Medical Center of Athens and extend to him sincere 4 best wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Wallace as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Gooden

H.R. No. 2251

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2251 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House