RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, During the 2016-2017 season, the boys' soccer team 2 of Wisdom High School in Houston continued its winning tradition by claiming a third consecutive district championship and advancing to 3 the University Interscholastic League 5A state playoffs; and 4 WHEREAS, The Generals finished the regular season with a 5 perfect record in league play to capture the District 24-5A title 6 7 for the third year in a row and earn a berth in the playoffs; and WHEREAS, In the postseason opener, the Generals took the 8 9 field against their bi-district opponent, Elkins High School; the 10 Wisdom High players overcame an early deficit with a clutch penalty 11 kick just minutes before halftime and eventually secured a 4-1 win 12 to move on to the area round of the playoffs; in that hard-fought game, the team made a strong showing but ultimately fell in overtime 13 14 to Kingwood Park High, bringing a memorable year to a close; and WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, the Generals 15 16 received valuable contributions throughout the year from each member of the roster, and these talented student-athletes were 17 inspired to perform at the top of their game by head coach Fidel 18 Andrade and his staff; and 19 WHEREAS, Playing with great skill and determination, the 20 21 Wisdom Generals have earned the admiration of their fellow students and community supporters, and they may indeed reflect with great 22 23 pride on their many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 2264

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Wisdom High School boys' soccer
- 2 team on its success during the 2016-2017 season and extend to all
- 3 those associated with the team sincere best wishes for the future;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Wu

H.R. No. 2264

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2264 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House