## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Sickle Cell Association of Houston hosted its
- 2 2nd Annual Sickle Cell Chronic Disease Symposium on April 22, 2017;
- 3 and
- 4 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of board members Quannecia
- 5 McCruse, Dr. Harinder Juneja, Tonya Prince, and Dr. Vivian
- 6 Sheehan, the Sickle Cell Association of Houston is dedicated to
- 7 increasing public awareness of sickle cell disease, a rare genetic
- 8 blood disorder, and to providing resources for affected
- 9 individuals; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The 2017 symposium brought together medical leaders
- 11 in an effort to foster collaborations and bridge gaps in knowledge
- 12 and health care practices for sickle cell disease; and
- WHEREAS, The members of the Sickle Cell Association of
- 14 Houston have demonstrated a strong commitment to improving the
- 15 quality of life for residents living with sickle cell anemia, and
- 16 their vital work is indeed worthy of recognition; now, therefore,
- 17 be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby commemorate the Sickle Cell Association of
- 20 Houston's 2nd Annual Sickle Cell Chronic Disease Symposium and
- 21 extend to its organizers and participants sincere best wishes for
- 22 the future; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Johnson of Harris

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker of the House	
adopted by the House on May 22	,

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2278 was

2017, by a non-record vote.