H.R. No. 2291

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Harmony Science Academy in San Antonio received a
- 2 silver medal from U.S. News & World Report in the publication's 2017
- 3 Best High Schools feature; and
- WHEREAS, To produce this year's list, U.S. News & World
- 5 Report evaluated more than 20,000 public high schools in all 50
- 6 states and the District of Columbia; a number of factors were
- 7 considered in making the analysis, including figures on college
- 8 readiness, graduation rates, student-teacher ratios, and student
- 9 performance in comparison to the state average; the assessment also
- 10 focused on the progress of disadvantaged students and the size of
- 11 the achievement gap on each campus; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Harmony Science Academy is an open-enrollment
- 13 charter school with a focus on math, science, engineering, and
- 14 computer technology; ably led by principal Yasar Cakir, the
- 15 academy's faculty and staff are devoted to creating a safe, caring,
- 16 and collaborative educational environment where students can build
- 17 a strong foundation for future success; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Through their dedication, hard work, and
- 19 perseverance, the teachers and students of Harmony Science Academy
- 20 have established a record of scholastic excellence, and their
- 21 outstanding efforts are indeed deserving of this notable honor;
- 22 now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Harmony Science Academy in San

H.R. No. 2291

- 1 Antonio on receiving a silver medal from U.S. News & World Report in
- 2 the 2017 Best High Schools feature and commend all those associated
- 3 with the academy for their accomplishments; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Harmony Science Academy as an expression of high
- 6 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Minjarez

H.R. No. 2291

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

| | H.R. No. 2291 |
|---------------------------------|------------------------------------|
| | |
| | Speaker of the House |
| I certify that H.R. No. 2291 wa | as adopted by the House on May 23, |
| 2017, by a non-record vote. | |
| | |
| | Chief Clerk of the House |