By: Walle H.R. No. 2297

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of Greater Jerusalem Missionary Baptist 2 Church in Houston are joining together on May 28, 2017, to honor Pastor Joe Fred Russell for two decades of dedicated service to that 3 4 congregation; and 5 WHEREAS, Formerly pastor of Mount Olive Baptist Church in Corrigan, Pastor Russell assumed the leadership of Greater 6 7 Jerusalem in 1997; since that time, the congregation has added hundreds of new members, and a number of deacons have been ordained; 8

9 the church maintains an intensive focus on evangelism and provides

10 many opportunities to its members for fellowship and spiritual

11 growth; it also ministers regularly to the sick and homebound and

12 sponsors such vital programs as a food pantry and a clothes closet;

13 and

14 WHEREAS, Over the course of his tenure, Pastor Russell has overseen the acquisition of land to accommodate further growth of 15 16 the church; moreover, the congregation has purchased and renovated 17 a number of commercial properties to house a counseling center, a recreation center, and businesses that benefit the community; among 18 these is the Greater Jerusalem Cosmetology School, which offers 19 vocational assistance and frequently provides services to the 20 21 indigent; and

WHEREAS, An inspiring clergyman, Pastor Joe Russell has led Greater Jerusalem Missionary Baptist Church with conviction and compassion, and he has earned the lasting respect and admiration of

H.R. No. 2297

- 1 his congregants and members of the community at large; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor Pastor Joe Fred Russell on the occasion of
- 5 his 20th pastoral anniversary at Greater Jerusalem Missionary
- 6 Baptist Church and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 7 success with his important work; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Pastor Russell as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.