RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The eighth-grade class from Nova Academy in Dallas
is visiting the State Capitol on May 24, 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, Chartered in 1998, Nova Academy welcomed 80 students 4 in its first year; under the leadership of CEO Donna Houston-Woods, 5 it has grown to serve approximately 850 young Texans at three 6 campuses; eighth-grade pupils study at Nova Academy Prichard, a \$5 7 million facility that opened in the fall of 2011; and

8 WHEREAS, Nova Academy provides a rigorous academic program in 9 a safe, stimulating environment; the student-teacher ratio of 20:1 10 ensures ample opportunities for individual instruction and allows 11 the school to maintain a "whole child" focus promoting achievement 12 both in and out of the classroom; and

13 WHEREAS, During their visit to Austin, members of the Nova 14 Academy delegation can watch elected officials in action while 15 touring the statehouse and learning more about the fascinating 16 history of this monument to freedom and democracy; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Capitol is an ideal setting for young and old alike to discover the rich heritage of the Lone Star State, and Nova Academy is giving its eighth-grade class a valuable opportunity to explore an iconic edifice while gaining insight into the workings of the legislature; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby recognize the eighth-grade class of Nova Academy and commend the students for their interest in state government;

1

1 and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the Nova Academy delegation as an expression of high 4 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Rose

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2310 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House