H.R. No. 2337

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mark W. Robbins has been presented with a 2016-2017
- 2 Daniel E. Kilgore Local History Award by the Nueces County
- 3 Historical Society; and
- WHEREAS, Established in 2004, this accolade is annually
- 5 bestowed on individuals who have rendered distinguished service in
- 6 advancing the NCHS mission to promote and preserve the history of
- 7 Nueces County and the Coastal Bend; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The late Dan Kilgore was regarded as one of the
- 9 state's foremost lay historians; in addition to amassing an
- 10 extensive personal collection of Texana, which he donated to Texas
- 11 A&M University--Corpus Christi, he authored numerous books,
- 12 newspaper articles, and reviews on the subject of South Texas
- 13 history and also spoke frequently on local history topics before
- 14 area groups; and
- WHEREAS, A truly deserving recipient of this honor, Dr.
- 16 Robbins enjoys a rewarding career as a professor of history at Del
- 17 Mar College; in addition to fulfilling the duties of his busy
- 18 professional life, he has given generously of his time and energies
- 19 in behalf of NCHS and his community at large; and
- WHEREAS, This notable Texan has demonstrated a profound
- 21 commitment to the stewardship of local history, and his
- 22 contributions will help current and future generations of Coastal
- 23 Bend residents to more fully understand and appreciate their rich
- 24 heritage; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2337

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Mark W. Robbins on his receipt of a
- 3 2016-2017 Daniel E. Kilgore Local History Award from the Nueces
- 4 County Historical Society and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 5 the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Dr. Robbins as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 2337

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2337 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House