H.R. No. 2360

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Del Mar College established its Center for
 Mexican-American Studies during the 2016-2017 school year; and

3 WHEREAS, The center was founded to further the mission of the college's Mexican-American Studies program, sponsor events related 4 5 to the MAS curriculum, and expand cultural awareness and appreciation in the wider community; the center provides resources 6 7 and learning experiences for students and the public, and it will also promote the Mike Anzaldúa MAS Memorial Scholarship and other 8 9 scholarship opportunities; and

WHEREAS, The Mexican-American Studies program is aligned with the college's designation as a Hispanic-serving institution; efforts to develop a degree plan in the discipline gained traction in 2003 with support from the 78th Texas Legislature for introducing such course work in public community colleges; and

WHEREAS, In 2008, Del Mar reintroduced a course in Mexican-American literature and has since added to the curriculum an Introduction to Mexican-American Studies, as well as classes in Mexican-American politics, history, and fine arts; in 2011, the college implemented the associate degree in Mexican-American Studies; and

21 WHEREAS, The establishment of the Center for 22 Mexican-American Studies marks the beginning of a new era for the 23 MAS program at Del Mar College, and the center is sure to enhance 24 opportunities for educational and cultural enrichment for students

1

H.R. No. 2360

1 and local residents alike; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the establishment of the Del Mar 4 College Center for Mexican-American Studies and extend to all those 5 associated with the center sincere best wishes for the future; and, 6 be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the center as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 2360

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2360 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House