RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Lufkin are celebrating the 50th
anniversary of the Ellen Trout Zoo on June 17, 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, In 1965, local businessman Walter W. Trout and the 4 Lufkin Rotary Club proposed establishing a zoo that would feature 5 the fauna of East Texas, but when Mr. Trout received a baby 6 hippopotamus as a gift, the focus of the zoo shifted to include more 7 exotic creatures; and

8 WHEREAS, The zoo was officially opened on June 17, 1967, and 9 named in honor of Mr. Trout's mother, with his granddaughter 10 Barbara cutting the ribbon; in 1983, it became the fifth zoo in 11 Texas to be accredited by the American Association of Zoological 12 Parks and Aquariums, and the following year, the Friends of Ellen 13 Trout Zoo was created to help the zoo promote conservation, acquire 14 new animals, build new exhibits, and purchase equipment; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Ellen Trout Zoo draws some 150,000 15 16 visitors each year from across East Texas and western Louisiana with the opportunity to see a variety of wild animals, including 17 Maasai giraffes, southern white rhinoceroses, Malayan tigers, and 18 the largest zoo colony of cotton-top tamarin monkeys in the United 19 20 States; since 2002, the state-of-the-art Hippoquarium has allowed 21 visitors to view the zoo's two hippos in a natural river setting; the zoo also features a miniature train, a fishing lake, a hiking 22 23 trail, a playground, and picnic areas; and

24 WHEREAS, More than 10,000 area students visit the facility

1

1 each year to learn more about the natural world; in addition, the 2 zoo is active in several important conservation efforts to help 3 preserve and increase the populations of a variety of animals, 4 including the Louisiana pine snake and the East Texas black bear, 5 and it has also provided support to protect the Orinoco crocodile, 6 the clouded leopard, jaguars, and other species whose survival is 7 at risk; and

8 WHEREAS, For half a century, the Ellen Trout Zoo has proven to 9 be an invaluable cultural and educational resource, delighting 10 residents and visitors alike with its unique collection of some of 11 the world's most remarkable creatures; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 13 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Ellen 14 Trout Zoo and extend to the zoo's staff, volunteers, and guests 15 sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable celebration; 16 and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for the Ellen Trout Zoo as an expression of high regard by 19 the Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2371 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House