RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot express the sorrow caused by the loss
- 2 of San Antonio firefighter Scott Deem, who died in the line of duty
- 3 on May 18, 2017, at the age of 31; and
- WHEREAS, Firefighter Deem was a member of the crew from
- 5 Ladder 35 "A" Shift who responded to a fire in a shopping center,
- 6 and he lost his life while searching for potential victims of the
- 7 blaze; and
- 8 WHEREAS, A native of San Antonio, Scott Deem was born on March
- 9 24, 1986, and he graduated from Southwest High School in 2004; he
- 10 joined the San Antonio Fire Department in January 2011, and during
- 11 his six years with the department, he earned the respect and
- 12 affection of his fellow firefighters; and
- WHEREAS, The loving husband of Jennifer Deem, Mr. Deem was
- 14 exceptionally proud of his daughter, Dakota, and his son, Tyler,
- 15 and he was eagerly anticipating the birth of his third child; he was
- 16 a CrossFit enthusiast, and he regularly attended his daughter's
- 17 volleyball games and volunteered at his children's schools; and
- WHEREAS, This brave and selfless Texan embodied the highest
- 19 ideals of his profession, and his heroism, sacrifice, and devotion
- 20 to duty will long be remembered by all those who knew and loved him;
- 21 now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Scott Deem of the
- 24 San Antonio Fire Department and extend heartfelt sympathy to his

- 1 family and many friends; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of
- 5 firefighter Scott Deem.

Rodriguez of Bexar

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer
Craddick Cyrier Dale	Lang Larson	Stickland Stucky Swanson
Darby	Laubenberg Leach	Thierry
Davis of Dallas	Longoria Thompson of Braz	
Davis of Harris Dean	Lozano Lucio III	Thompson of Harris Tinderholt
Deshotel	Martinez	Turner
Dukes	Metcalf	Uresti
Dutton	Meyer	VanDeaver
Elkins	Miller	Villalba
Faircloth	Minjarez	Vo
Fallon Farrar	Moody Morrison	Walle White
Flynn	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 2388 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 26, 2017.

Chief Clerk of the House