## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Seven outstanding students have contributed to the 2 workings of state government during the 85th Legislative Session through their participation in the inaugural semester of the 3 Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas Scholars Program; 4 5 and WHEREAS, Administered by College Consortium, the ICUT 6 7 Scholars Program is designed to provide hands-on learning experience for students interested in the legislative process or a 8 career in public policy; over the course of the legislative 9

10 session, participants serve as interns in the offices of state

11 lawmakers, where they analyze policy, interact with constituents,

12 and develop insight on important issues facing their communities

13 and state, while also earning course credit; and

WHEREAS, The program is open to all ICUT member undergraduate students and is overseen by Dr. Arturo Vega, chair of the St. Mary's University political science department and a former Texas Senate legislative assistant, and David Courreges, an

Austin-based lawyer and former legislative director; and 18 WHEREAS, Interns in the ICUT Scholars Program class of 2017 19 include Concordia University Texas students Joshua Wheatley, 20 21 serving in the office of Representative Ina Minjarez, Haley Entrop, serving in the office of Representative Chris Turner, Anyssa 22 23 Campbell-Espinoza, serving in the office of Representative Jay 24 Dean, and Krista Guehlhausen, serving in the office of

H.R. No. 2390

- 1 Representative Drew Springer; from St. Mary's University, Julissa
- 2 Cantu, serving in the office of Representative Terry Canales, Alec
- 3 Mendoza, serving in the office of Senator José Menéndez, and Daniel
- 4 Reyes, serving in the office of Representative Justin Rodriguez;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, These fine young interns have performed their duties
- 7 with skill, dedication, and professionalism, and they are indeed
- 8 deserving of recognition for their exemplary work; now, therefore,
- 9 be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby honor participants in the 2017 Independent
- 12 Colleges and Universities of Texas Scholars Program and extend to
- 13 them sincere best wishes for continued success in all their future
- 14 endeavors; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Rodriguez of Bexar

## H.R. No. 2390

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu
Geren Gervin-Hawkins	Neave Nevárez	Wu Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 2390 was	adopted by the House on May 26,	
by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 2390

2017, by a non-record vote.