By: Rodriguez of Bexar

H.R. No. 2390

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Seven outstanding students have contributed to the

workings of state government during the 85th Legislative Session

3 through their participation in the inaugural semester of the

4 Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas Scholars Program;

5 and

2

6 WHEREAS, Administered by College Consortium, the ICUT

7 Scholars Program is designed to provide hands-on learning

8 experience for students interested in the legislative process or a

9 career in public policy; over the course of the legislative

10 session, participants serve as interns in the offices of state

11 lawmakers, where they analyze policy, interact with constituents,

12 and develop insight on important issues facing their communities

13 and state, while also earning course credit; and

14 WHEREAS, The program is open to all ICUT member undergraduate

15 students and is overseen by Dr. Arturo Vega, chair of the

16 St. Mary's University political science department and a former

17 Texas Senate legislative assistant, and David Courreges, an

18 Austin-based lawyer and former legislative director; and

WHEREAS, Interns in the ICUT Scholars Program class of 2017

20 include Concordia University Texas students Joshua Wheatley,

21 serving in the office of Representative Ina Minjarez, Haley Entrop,

22 serving in the office of Representative Chris Turner, Anyssa

23 Campbell-Espinoza, serving in the office of Representative Jay

24 Dean, and Krista Guehlhausen, serving in the office of

## H.R. No. 2390

- 1 Representative Drew Springer; from St. Mary's University, Julissa
- 2 Cantu, serving in the office of Representative Terry Canales, Alec
- 3 Mendoza, serving in the office of Senator José Menéndez, and Daniel
- 4 Reyes, serving in the office of Representative Justin Rodriguez;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, These fine young interns have performed their duties
- 7 with skill, dedication, and professionalism, and they are indeed
- 8 deserving of recognition for their exemplary work; now, therefore,
- 9 be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby honor participants in the 2017 Independent
- 12 Colleges and Universities of Texas Scholars Program and extend to
- 13 them sincere best wishes for continued success in all their future
- 14 endeavors; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.