H.R. No. 2414

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Under the guidance of journalism lab adviser Scott 2 Beckett, Del Mar College students enjoyed great success at the 3 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention held in Dallas 4 from March 30 through April 1, 2017; and

5 WHEREAS, Founded in 1909, TIPA is considered the oldest and one of the largest collegiate press associations in the country, 6 7 and today it hosts a wide range of journalism contests at its annual spring conference; this year, Del Mar College earned a total of 36 8 awards, including individual honors in a number of categories; 9 Foghorn newspaper placed 10 moreover, The first in Online Interactivity and second in Editorial, Overall Excellence, and 11 12 Website Navigation, while the college's magazine, The Siren, finished second for Overall Excellence; and 13

WHEREAS, Mr. Beckett began his journalism career in 2004 as a copyediting intern at the *Corpus Christi Caller-Times*, where he went on to work full-time for nine years before joining the staff at Del Mar College; he is a Scripps Howard Hall of Fame inductee, winner of the American Copy Editors Society national headline contest, and a former Texas Daily Newspaper Association copy editor of the year; and

21 WHEREAS, Through his outstanding leadership, Scott Beckett 22 has contributed to Del Mar College's reputation for journalistic 23 excellence, and he may take justifiable pride in his 24 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2414

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Scott Beckett on the success of his 3 students at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association 2017 spring 4 convention and commend him for his exceptional work at Del Mar 5 College; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Beckett as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 2414

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2414 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House