H.R. No. 2432

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Ian Slingsby has ably served his fellow Texans as an
intern in the office of State Representative Chris Turner during
the 85th Legislative Session; and

WHEREAS, Since joining the staff, Mr. Slingsby has provided vital assistance in handling such diverse and challenging tasks as drafting legislative correspondence, conducting policy research, and supporting constituent outreach efforts; in addition to gaining valuable experience in the field of public service, he has learned more about the legislative process and the issues facing citizens of the Lone Star State; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Slingsby is studying government at The 12 University of Texas, where he has distinguished himself as a Terry Scholar, treasurer of the Phi Alpha Delta pre-law fraternity, and 13 14 editor of the Texas Undergraduate Law Review; a recipient of the bronze Congressional Award for voluntary public service and the 15 16 gold President's Volunteer Service Award, he was a member of AmeriCorps for two years, serving as an assistant team leader and 17 media representative for the National Civilian Community Corps and 18 as an emergency response crew member for the Texas Conservation 19 20 Corps; and

21 WHEREAS, This outstanding young Texan has performed his 22 duties as a legislative intern with skill and dedication, and he is 23 indeed deserving of special recognition for his fine work; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2432

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend Ian Slingsby for his service as a 3 legislative intern in the office of State Representative Chris 4 Turner and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success 5 in all his endeavors; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Slingsby as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Turner

H.R. No. 2432

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2432 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House