RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Elliott Naishtat of Austin 2 represented Texas House District 49 with tremendous dedication for 3 more than a quarter century before his retirement in January 2017; 4 and

WHEREAS, First elected in 1990, Representative Naishtat 5 served during 13 legislative sessions and placed a special emphasis 6 7 on assisting the vulnerable, especially the elderly, children, minorities, people with disabilities, and victims of domestic 8 9 violence; he passed hundreds of bills, among them the Nursing Home Regulatory Reform Act, which created a bill of rights for nursing 10 11 home residents and strengthened the state's response to abuse and 12 neglect, and the Medicaid Simplification Act, which helped tens of thousands of additional children receive health care; other 13 14 significant legislation he passed during his years at the State Capitol include the Braille Literacy Act, the Landlord-Tenant 15 Security Devices Act, the Indoor Air Quality Act, the Newborn 16 Hearing Screening Act, the Child Protective Services Act, and the 17 Seniors' Property Tax Relief Act; and 18

WHEREAS, Representative Naishtat cosponsored the Texas Anti-Stalking Act and Hate Crimes Act, as well as bills that increased protections for patients in psychiatric, substance abuse, and rehabilitation facilities; he served in such leadership roles as chair of the Committee on Aging and the Human Services and Long-Term Care Legislative Oversight Committees and as vice chair

1

1 of the Public Health Committee; moreover, he was a founding member 2 of the board of the House Progressive Caucus; and

H.R. No. 2546

3 WHEREAS, The recipient of myriad accolades, Representative Naishtat was named Public Elected Official of the Year for 1999 by 4 5 the National Association of Social Workers, and in 2002, he was accorded the National Consumer Health Advocate Award by Families 6 USA; in addition, he was recognized by the AARP, the American 7 8 Foundation for the Blind, the American Cancer Society, Common Cause, the Texas Council on Family Violence, and the Texas Public 9 10 Health Association, among numerous other organizations; and

WHEREAS, Born in New York City, Representative Naishtat 11 12 graduated from Queens College; he was dispatched to Eagle Pass as a VISTA volunteer in President Lyndon Johnson's War on Poverty and 13 14 went on to earn both a master's degree in social work and a law degree from The University of Texas; subsequently, he served as 15 staff counsel for Senator Gonzalo Barrientos before entering 16 17 private law practice; he also served as chair of the Austin Community Development Commission and directed the UT School of 18 19 Social Work's Legislative Training Program; and

20 WHEREAS, Elliott Naishtat made a lasting, positive 21 difference in countless lives through his unyielding commitment to 22 protecting the health and well-being of his fellow Texans, and his 23 outstanding contributions will continue to resonate in the years to 24 come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby commend the Honorable Elliott Naishtat for his exemplary service as a member of the Texas Legislature and extend to

2

him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Representative Naishtat as an expression of high
regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hinojosa

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2546 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House