H.R. No. 2547

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Students from Texas Tech University have rendered 2 outstanding service to the Texas Legislature during the 85th 3 Session as participants in the school's Legislative Internship 4 Program; and

5 WHEREAS, This worthwhile initiative offers students at Texas 6 Tech an opportunity to learn about the legislative process, gain 7 experience in the world of state governance, and apply workforce 8 skills while building their resumes and professional networks; and

9 WHEREAS, Participants are placed with various legislative 10 offices and organizations, where they work full-time over the 11 course of the session; individuals selected for this prestigious 12 honor earn academic credit for their work and engage in an 13 environment that combines academic rigor with real-world 14 responsibility; and

WHEREAS, This year's class of interns includes Dylan Boyd in 15 16 the office of Representative Andrew Murr, Elizabeth Burgess in the office of Senator Kel Seliger, Jacob Bywaters in the office of 17 Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick, Ezra Chairez in the office of 18 Speaker Joe Straus, Emily Fouts in the office of Governor Greg 19 Abbott, Taylor Hubbard in the office of Representative John M. 20 21 Frullo, Sondra Lohse in the office of Representative Tom Craddick, 22 James Maynard in the office of Senator Lois W. Kolkhorst, and Sydney 23 Witte in the office of Senator Charles Perry; and

24 WHEREAS, The members of this notable group have performed

1

H.R. No. 2547

1 their duties as legislative interns with great skill and diligence,
2 and they are indeed deserving of special recognition for their fine
3 work; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby commend the participants in the Texas Tech University Legislative Internship Program for their invaluable contributions to the Texas Legislature and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the interns as an expression of high regard by the 12 Texas House of Representatives.

> Frullo Burrows Darby Craddick Murr

2

H.R. No. 2547

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2547 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House