H.R. No. 2551

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The academic decathlon team from Tuloso-Midway High 2 School has enjoyed great success during the 2016-2017 season, 3 advancing to the state competition on February 23-26 in El Paso; and WHEREAS, The academic decathlon program provides high school 4 students with an opportunity to experience the challenges of 5 rigorous academic competition through participation in team 6 7 activities covering 10 content areas: art history, math, music, economics, essay, interview, language and literature, science, 8 speech, and social science; and 9 WHEREAS, After earning third place at the regional contest, 10
- the squad from Tuloso-Midway went on to test their skills at the 2017 State Championships, where they competed against other
- 13 top-ranked teams from Texas schools; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The Warriors received vital contributions
- 15 throughout the season from each member of the roster: Morgan
- 16 McCown, Kaylee Crawford, George Duran, Hayley Hartzendorf,
- 17 Christine Sanchez, Casey Keach, Caira Johnson, Gavin Lambert, and
- 18 Gabriella Mastroianni, and they were ably guided by coaches Sarah
- 19 Walker and Debbie VanZandt; and
- 20 WHEREAS, These outstanding young Texans have demonstrated
- 21 great skill and dedication, and with their fine showing during the
- 22 2016-2017 academic decathlon season, they have brought tremendous
- 23 pride to their school and community; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 2551

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Tuloso-Midway High School
- 2 academic decathlon team on a successful 2016-2017 season and extend
- 3 to its members and coaches sincere best wishes for the future; and,
- 4 be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 2551

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2551 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House