H.R. No. 2557

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Portia King has been presented with a Community
- 2 Builder Award by Masonic Lodge No. 856 in Joaquin; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Established by the Grand Lodge of Texas in 1991, the
- 4 Community Builder Award was created to recognize non-Masons who
- 5 have distinguished themselves through exceptional service to their
- 6 community; and
- 7 WHEREAS, An alumna of Panola College, Portia King has enjoyed
- 8 a rewarding career in nursing that has spanned more than three
- 9 decades; since 1996, she has worked as a licensed vocational nurse
- 10 for the Joaquin Independent School District, and over the course of
- 11 her 21-year tenure, she has played an instrumental role in
- 12 organizing many beneficial initiatives, including the Walk for
- 13 Diabetes, Pasta for Pennies, and a summer safety program; dedicated
- 14 to her profession, she serves as a member of the National
- 15 Association of School Nurses and the Texas School Nurses
- 16 Organization; and
- WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Ms. King enjoys the love and
- 18 support of her husband, Ronald, and she takes immense pride in her
- 19 two children, Millard and Rondalyn, and her two grandchildren,
- 20 Lauren and Jake; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Those Texans who step forward to share their time
- 22 and talents with others are indeed deserving of our admiration and
- 23 gratitude, and Portia King has set an inspiring example of
- 24 leadership, compassion, and service; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2557

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Portia King on her receipt of a
- 3 Community Builder Award from Masonic Lodge No. 856 and commend her
- 4 on her contributions to her fellow citizens; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. King as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Paddie

H.R. No. 2557

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2557 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House