H.R. No. 2586

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Americans across the land are gathering on
 Thanksgiving, November 22, 2018, to reflect on the many blessings
 the year has brought; and

WHEREAS, The history of this cherished celebration spans 4 5 nearly four centuries, tracing its roots back to 1620; met by a harsh New England winter that year, the struggling European 6 settlers at Plymouth Rock received welcome assistance from the 7 indigenous people, who taught them vital farming and survival 8 techniques; in a display of gratitude toward God for answering 9 their prayers for help, the Pilgrims held a three-day feast, and 10 11 together with their Native American neighbors, they enjoyed the 12 fruits of a bountiful harvest; and

WHEREAS, The Thanksgiving holiday was first officially observed more than 150 years later, soon after the founding fathers established this great nation; in George Washington's first presidential proclamation in 1789, he enacted a day of thanksgiving and prayer to acknowledge the "many signal favors of Almighty God" that had been bestowed on the American people; and

WHEREAS, Decades later, in the tumultuous days of the Civil War, President Abraham Lincoln delivered the Thanksgiving Day proclamation that would set the standard for every president that followed; in his now famous speech, he urged Americans to call on "the Almighty hand" to heal the Union and implored the people to remember the source from which "the blessings of fruitful fields

1

H.R. No. 2586

1 and healthful skies" come; and

2 WHEREAS, Today, the Thanksgiving holiday, observed each year 3 on the fourth Thursday in November, is one of our most dearly held 4 traditions, offering an opportunity to join with family and friends 5 in expressing appreciation for the many gifts of the past year; now, 6 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby commemorate Thanksgiving 2018.

Price

H.R. No. 2586

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2586 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House