RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texans and visitors from across the nation benefit
- 2 greatly from the dedicated efforts of the employees of the State
- 3 Preservation Board; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This vital state agency is responsible for the
- 5 preservation and maintenance of the historic buildings in the
- 6 Capitol Complex, and it approves all construction, repair, and
- 7 renovation work; the agency also provides educational and
- 8 curatorial services, operates the Capitol Visitors Center and gift
- 9 shops, offers guided tours to the public, schedules and manages
- 10 public events, and operates the visitors parking garage; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Executive director Rod Welsh oversees the State
- 12 Preservation Board with the able assistance of the executive staff,
- 13 David L. Byers, Bob Cash, Erin Christensen, Linda L. Gaby, Dale G.
- 14 Hernandez, Alice B. James, Cynthia Provine, and Ann M. Vay, as well
- 15 as the skilled members of the finance and accounting department,
- 16 Lindsey A. Alvarado, Barbara Hanus, Angela Knoll, Deanna L. Wall,
- 17 and Monica H. Young; the agency's work further benefits from the
- 18 support of its administrative personnel, Virginia Benavidez,
- 19 Robert M. Davis, Jane A. Falkenberg, Patricia G. Hernandez-Ruiz,
- 20 Leslie Pawelka, Rachel S. Ramirez, Valerie Rockwell, and Helen
- 21 Sumers, as well as IT staff members Andre Bygrave and Rosemary
- 22 Rodriguez; and
- 23 WHEREAS, The curatorial staff consists of Richard T.
- 24 Eisenhour, Paige A. Hester, and Michelle Lambing; educational tours

- 1 are offered by Leslie Covington, Marilena Crouchet, Suzanna Ewert, Analise Garcia, Timothy Hood, William Kelly, Nancy Korzilius, Sarah 2 3 Ledoux, Amanda Magera, Cat McGrath-Farmer, Justin "Zack" Odom, William Padgett, Margie Paz, Katia Peacher, James "Richard" Poland, 4 5 Suzette Rahmann, Karen Rohe, Katharine Shirley, Mary Grace Stanford, Comfort K. Tysen, Katheryn Wells, Amy Wolfgang, Derrick 6 Wright, Jayme Zigler, Georgia Zunker, and Nicholas A. Edwards; and 7 8 WHEREAS, Members of the public are welcomed every day to the Capitol and the Visitors Center by staffers Eric A. Boedy, 9 10 Elizabeth Garzone, Leigh Gershman, Idali Reyes, Amy Russell, Kandace D. Russell, R. Kyle Schlafer, Kyle Walker, and Jenna 11 Archuletta, and the retail staff includes Sheryl D. Baker, Michael 12 13 J. Dillon, and Carolyn Rzeppa; other essential members of the SPB 14 team are Angela Carver, Edna Gamboa, Nancy Hennessy, and Angelia 15 Rios Hennigan in the Capitol Visitors Center gift shop, Misha Karen Buckman, Ingrid Earls, Thomas Farley, Gina Filipponi, Joe Lung, 16 17 Mikki Pasasadaba, and Jack Whalen in the Capitol Extension gift shop, Michael Coronado, Elizabeth A. Deutchman, and Karen N. 18
- visitors parking garage; and

 WHEREAS, The outstanding employees who are responsible for

 the care and maintenance of the landmark buildings and monuments

 are Steven E. Aguirre, Kevin M. Koch, Mark Lindsey, Joe Medina,

 Araceli Ripper, and Douglas R. Young of facilities management, Eric

warehouse,

Christopher B. Currens, Gladys Howard, Maria Martinez, Edward

"Luke" McNicholas, John Stephen Morrow, and Amanda Remillard at the

and

Irene G.

Arispe,

retail

19

20

21

27

Griffin at the

Avery, Tommy Bailey, Roberto Carlos Benavides, Peter Castilleja,

- 1 Delbert "Audey" Friar, Jacob Gould, Ricky L. Grimes, William Hoes,
- 2 William Kleinebecker, Terry L. Pyle, Lawrence R. Starkes, Robert
- 3 "Eric" Tamayo, Vincent Tamayo, Norman Taylor, Gregory V. Taylor,
- 4 Alejandro "Alex" Villalobos, and William M. Wilson of the
- 5 maintenance crew, Betty Benavides, Laura G. Cuellar, Crisostoma
- 6 Espino-Recendiz, Arturo Lopez Estrada, Eliceo Hernandez, Diane M.
- 7 Magallanez, Rafaela Mila, Chinh C. Nguyen, Aida Robles, Eric
- 8 Rodriguez, Maria Rodriguez, and Flora E. Torres of the housekeeping
- 9 team, and Brian Abercrombie, Antonio Delgado, Jeffery "Brent"
- 10 Dickerson, and Hector N. Medrano of the groundskeeping staff; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Through their dedicated stewardship of a rich
- 12 legacy, the administrators and employees of the State Preservation
- 13 Board are rendering a vital service to the people of Texas and
- 14 introducing countless visitors to the remarkable story of the Lone
- 15 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby commend the staff of the State Preservation
- 18 Board for their exemplary service; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for the State Preservation Board as an expression of high
- 21 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hinojosa

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2599 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House