H.R. No. 2642

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Attorney Joe K. Longley of Austin has been elected
- 2 as the 2018-2019 president of the State Bar of Texas; and
- 3 WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas School of Law,
- 4 Mr. Longley was a partner at Longley & Maxwell for 25 years before
- 5 establishing his solo practice in Austin; during his notable
- 6 career, he has advocated for legislation to benefit both the legal
- 7 profession and its clients, including laws to prevent deceptive
- 8 trade practices and to promote fair debt collection; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Longley has served the State Bar of Texas as a
- 10 member of the board of directors and the District 9 Grievance
- 11 Committee, and he is a former chair of the Consumer Law Section; his
- 12 many achievements have been recognized by the entity's Insurance
- 13 Law Section, which honored him with the Insurance Legend Award in
- 14 2011; and
- WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Mr. Longley enjoys the love
- 16 and support of his family, including his wife, Maggie, his three
- 17 children, and his five grandchildren; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Joe Longley has demonstrated an exceptional
- 19 commitment to furthering the mission of the State Bar of Texas, and
- 20 the vision and breadth of experience he brings to his new role as
- 21 president are sure to benefit the organization; now, therefore, be
- 22 it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Joe K. Longley on his election as

H.R. No. 2642

- 1 president of the State Bar of Texas and extend to him sincere best
- 2 wishes for a successful and productive term; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Mr. Longley as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 2642

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 2642
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2642 wa	as adopted by the House on May 28,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House