H.R. No. 2643

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Bruce Pearson retired as the city manager of
- 2 Pleasanton in April 2016, concluding four years of exemplary
- 3 service in that office; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Following a notable tenure with the San Antonio
- 5 Water System, Mr. Pearson was named assistant city manager of
- 6 Cibolo in 2008; in that role, he oversaw a capital improvement plan
- 7 that led to the reconstruction of Main Street and also allowed the
- 8 city to build a new police and fire station and a public park; and
- 9 WHEREAS, This notable Texan was named city manager of
- 10 Pleasanton in 2012, and under his leadership, the city experienced
- 11 tremendous growth and development; during his tenure, a new city
- 12 master plan and parks master plan were implemented, and his
- 13 guidance was also instrumental in the design and construction of a
- 14 civic center and library; and
- WHEREAS, A graduate of Texas State University, Mr. Pearson
- 16 earned his master's degree in public administration from The
- 17 University of Texas at San Antonio; he also holds a Certified Public
- 18 Manager's Certification from the William P. Hobby Center for Public
- 19 Service at Texas State University; and
- WHEREAS, Each day, public servants improve the quality of
- 21 life for their fellow citizens in innumerable ways, and the
- 22 valuable contributions of Bruce Pearson have helped to make
- 23 Pleasanton an even better place in which to live and work; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2643

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Bruce Pearson on his retirement as
- 3 Pleasanton city manager and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 4 success in all his future endeavors; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Pearson as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 2643

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2643 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House