H.R. No. 2665

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A 66th wedding anniversary marks a lifetime of
- 2 mutual devotion and shared experiences, and Melvin and Jessie
- 3 Sampley of Arlington are celebrating this joyous milestone in their
- 4 marriage on June 2, 2017; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Melvin Cecil Sampley met the former Jessie Annette
- 6 "Shang" Grubbs in 1950 at a square dance in Montgomery, Alabama, and
- 7 afterward, he asked for permission to escort her home; the couple
- 8 were joined in matrimony a year later at the Baptist parsonage of
- 9 Dr. Henry Lyon Jr.; over the decades, they have been blessed with a
- 10 treasured family that includes their three children, Melissa,
- 11 Susan, and Mark, as well as four grandchildren and five
- 12 great-grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, Residents of Arlington since 1967, Mr. and
- 14 Mrs. Sampley are active members of the Vine Fellowship Church, and
- 15 they have helped those in need in their community and beyond;
- 16 Mr. Sampley served as a flight engineer in the U.S. Air Force and
- 17 earned the Air Medal for combat missions in North Korea, and he
- 18 later worked in materials management for the aerospace industry;
- 19 Mrs. Sampley has devoted herself to her home and family throughout
- 20 their marriage; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Sampley have enjoyed 66 years of
- 22 abiding love and affection for each other, and they are among an
- 23 exceptional group of men and women who can claim such a lasting
- 24 commitment; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2665

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Melvin and Shang Sampley on their
- 3 66th wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for
- 4 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Sampley as an expression of high regard
- 7 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wray

H.R. No. 2665

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2665 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House