1-1 By: Hughes S.B. No. 859 (In the Senate - Filed February 13, 2017; February 27, 2017, read first time and referred to Committee on State Affairs; April 18, 2017, reported adversely, with favorable Committee 1**-**2 1**-**3 1-4 Substitute by the following vote: Yeas 8, Nays 1; April 18, 2017, 1-5 sent to printer.) 1-6 1-7 COMMITTEE VOTE 1-8 Nay Absent PNV Yea Huffman 1-9 Χ 1-10 1-11 Hughes Birdwell 1-12 Creighton Χ 1-13 Estes Χ Χ 1-14 Lucio 1**-**15 1**-**16 Nelson Schwertner 1-17 Zaffirini Χ 1-18 COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR S.B. No. 859 Hughes By: 1-19 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1-20 AN ACT 1-21 relating to the membership of the Texas Racing Commission. 1-22 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 1-23 SECTION 1. Section 2.02(a), Texas Racing Act (Article 179e, Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes), is amended to read as follows:

(a) The commission consists of seven members appointed by 1-24

members are:

(1) the chairman of the Public Safety Commission or a member of the Public Safety Commission designated by the chairman of the Public Safety Commission; and

the governor with the advice and consent of the senate and two ex officio members who shall have the right to vote. The ex officio

(2) the <u>commissioner</u> of <u>agriculture</u> or the <u>commissioner's</u> [<del>comptroller of public accounts or the comptroller's</del>] designee.

SECTION 2. This Act takes effect September 1, 2017.

1-36 \* \* \* \* \*

1-25 1-26 1-27

1-28

1-29

1-30 1-31

1-32

1-33

1-34 1-35