By: Watson S.B. No. 1998

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1	AN ACT
2	relating to the formal recognition of the Dell Medical School at The
3	University of Texas at Austin and the School of Medicine at The
4	University of Texas Rio Grande Valley and the participation of
5	those schools in the Joint Admission Medical Program.
6	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
7	SECTION 1. Section 51.821(4), Education Code, is amended to
8	read as follows:
9	(4) "Participating medical school" means each of the
10	following entities:
11	(A) the medical school at The University of Texas
12	Health Science Center at Houston;
13	(B) the medical school at The University of Texas
14	Southwestern Medical Center;
15	(C) the medical school at The University of Texas
16	Health Science Center at San Antonio;
17	(D) the medical school at The University of Texas
18	Medical Branch at Galveston;
19	(E) the medical school at the Texas Tech
20	University Health Sciences Center at Lubbock;
21	(F) the medical school at the Texas Tech
22	University Health Sciences Center at El Paso;
23	(G) the Baylor College of Medicine;

24

(H) the college of osteopathic medicine at the

- S.B. No. 1998
- 1 University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth;
- 2 [and]
- 3 (I) the medical school at The Texas A&M
- 4 University System Health Science Center;
- 5 (J) the medical school at The University of Texas
- 6 at Austin; and
- 7 (K) the medical school at The University of Texas
- 8 Rio Grande Valley.
- 9 SECTION 2. Section 61.003(5), Education Code, is amended to
- 10 read as follows:
- 11 (5) "Medical and dental unit" means The Texas A&M
- 12 University System Health Science Center and its component
- 13 institutions, agencies, and programs; the Texas Tech University
- 14 Health Sciences Center; the Texas Tech University Health Sciences
- 15 Center at El Paso; The University of Texas Medical Branch at
- 16 Galveston; The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; The
- 17 University of Texas Medical School at San Antonio; The University
- 18 of Texas Dental Branch at Houston; The University of Texas M. D.
- 19 Anderson Cancer Center; The University of Texas Graduate School of
- 20 Biomedical Sciences at Houston; The University of Texas Dental
- 21 School at San Antonio; The University of Texas Medical School at
- 22 Houston; the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at
- 23 Austin; the School of Medicine at The University of Texas Rio Grande
- 24 Valley; [The University of Texas Health Science Center -- South Texas
- 25 and its component institutions, if established under Subchapter N,
- 26 Chapter 74; the nursing institutions of The Texas A&M University
- 27 System and The University of Texas System; and The University of

S.B. No. 1998

- 1 Texas School of Public Health at Houston; and such other medical or
- 2 dental schools as may be established by statute or as provided in
- 3 this chapter.
- 4 SECTION 3. (a) As soon as practicable after the effective
- 5 date of this Act, the medical schools at The University of Texas at
- 6 Austin and The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley each shall:
- 7 (1) enter into the agreement with the Joint Admission
- 8 Medical Program Council required by Section 51.829, Education Code;
- 9 and
- 10 (2) select an appropriate faculty member to represent
- 11 the respective medical school on the council.
- 12 (b) The medical schools each shall provide internships and
- 13 mentoring under the Joint Admission Medical Program as appropriate
- 14 beginning with the 2017-2018 academic year, but are not required
- 15 before the 2020-2021 academic year to admit participating students
- 16 to the medical schools under the program.
- 17 SECTION 4. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
- 18 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
- 19 provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this
- 20 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
- 21 Act takes effect September 1, 2017.