By: Lucio

S.C.R. No. 40

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In 2015, community health centers provided 2 essential primary medical care, dental, behavioral health, and 3 substance abuse services to more than 1.2 million Texans; of those 4 individuals, 40 percent lacked health insurance and 70 percent 5 lived at or below the poverty line; and

6 WHEREAS, The Lone Star State is home to some 450 community 7 health centers in 122 counties; dedicated to providing care to all 8 who need it, regardless of their ability to pay, those facilities 9 are annually visited by over 4.5 million patients, most of whom 10 would otherwise have to receive care in an emergency room; and

11 WHEREAS, Community health centers currently depend on 12 Medicaid as their largest source of reimbursement, as federal 13 grants subsidize the cost of treating uninsured patients; however, 14 70 percent of federal funding for those facilities is set to expire 15 in September 2017, and without congressional action, many centers 16 will have to limit or discontinue services to residents in need; and

WHEREAS, An invaluable resource to the areas they serve, community health centers have contributed immeasurably to the health and well-being of millions of Texans, and it is necessary for the federal government to continue supporting these important efforts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 85th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby respectfully urge the United States Congress to preserve federal funding for community health centers and retain Medicaid

1

S.C.R. No. 40 1 and Children's Health Insurance Program protections for the 2 centers; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Texas secretary of state forward official copies of this resolution to the president of the United States, to the president of the Senate and to the speaker of the House of Representatives of the United States Congress, and to all the members of the Texas delegation to Congress with the request that this resolution be entered in the Congressional Record as a memorial to the Congress of the United States of America.