SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 5

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Sam Houston State University Bearkats football team and its head coach, K. C. Keeler; and

WHEREAS, The Bearkats, under the exceptional leadership of Coach Keeler, went undefeated in the regular season, won the Southland Conference title, and advanced to the National Collegiate Athletic Association's Football Championship Subdivision playoffs; and

WHEREAS, In recognition of the team's outstanding success, Coach Keeler was named the recipient of the Eddie Robinson Award, which is given annually to the coach of the year in the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision; and

WHEREAS, Coach Keeler and the 2016 Bearkats have continued a tradition of athletic success for Sam Houston State University, and it is truly fitting that they receive special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the Sam Houston State University Bearkats and head coach K. C. Keeler on their outstanding season and extend best wishes to all those involved with the team for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team and Coach Keeler as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 17, 2017.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate