SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 16

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Jeremiah Briscoe, who has been named the recipient of the 2016 Walter Payton Award; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious award is presented annually to honor the best offensive player in the National Collegiate Athletic Association's Football Championship Subdivision; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Briscoe is the quarterback for the Sam Houston State University Bearkats; he set a Football Championship Subdivision single-season record with 57 touchdown passes in 2016, eclipsing a mark that had stood for more than 30 years; he also completed 62.6 percent of his passes and amassed 4,602 passing yards during the 2016 football season; and

WHEREAS, Jeremiah Briscoe played a vital role in the Bearkats' undefeated regular-season campaign, and he is truly deserving of special recognition for his hard work and commitment to excellence; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend Jeremiah Briscoe on his outstanding achievements and extend congratulations to him on being named the recipient of the 2016 Walter Payton Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 18, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate