SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 35

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor Crusaders football team, which won the 2016 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III national championship; and

WHEREAS, The Crusaders won the school's first national championship in football by defeating the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Titans by a score of 10-7 at the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl in Salem, Virginia; and

WHEREAS, These student-athletes demonstrated great talent and perseverance over the course of the year and finished the season with a 15-0 record that established new school and American Southwest Conference football records for single-season victories; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of Coach Pete Fredenburg, the 2016 American Football Coaches Association Division III Coach of the Year, the Crusaders developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and the people of Belton are proud of the Crusaders for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor Crusaders football team on its outstanding season and extend congratulations to the coaches and players on winning the 2016 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III national championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Buckingham

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 30, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate