SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 37

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pleasure in recognizing the Texas Juvenile Justice System by declaring January 24, 2017, Texas Juvenile Justice Professional Day; and

WHEREAS, The State of Texas and county governments are partners in providing one of the most innovative juvenile probation systems in the nation; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Juvenile Justice System is composed of 166 community-based probation departments, which serve youths and families in all 254 counties of this state in a partnership with the Texas Juvenile Justice Department; and

WHEREAS, The juvenile justice system professionals are able to make a positive difference in the lives of many Texas youths and their families, which saves the state millions of dollars each year; and

WHEREAS, The juvenile probation departments handle 100 percent of the referrals of juveniles to the juvenile justice system each year through the efforts of more than 8,200 certified juvenile probation and supervision officers, and the departments continue to provide services at the local level to 95 percent of referrals; and

WHEREAS, The persons who enter the field of juvenile justice accept a great responsibility for the youths and families of Texas; they work tirelessly and courageously to rehabilitate the lives of young citizens and to maintain the security and safety of our state's communities; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the outstanding professionals of our juvenile justice system for their vital contributions to the citizens of this state and extend sincere appreciation to them on Texas Juvenile Justice Professional Day 2017; and, be it further

Texas Juvenile Justice Professional Day 2017; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of Texas Juvenile Justice Professional Day.

Huffman

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 24, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate