SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 60

WHEREAS, Hochheim Prairie Farm Mutual Insurance
Association is celebrating its 125th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, In 1892, German immigrants from the rural farmlands in the area known as the Hochheim Prairie community gathered and organized a mutual insurance association by electing officers and insuring the homes of 30 families; and

WHEREAS, The association was chartered and named the Hochheim Prairie Mutual Fire and Storm Association; on July 1, 1973, its name was changed to Hochheim Prairie Farm Mutual Insurance Association; and

WHEREAS, With its corporate headquarters located in Yoakum, Texas, the association has grown mostly in rural areas of the state through 210 independent agents; the association has more than 90,000 members with written premiums exceeding \$125 million, and a subsidiary company was created in 1979 named Hochheim Prairie Casualty Insurance Company; and

WHEREAS, The association and its subsidiary company provide insurance coverage for homes, farms, ranches, manufactured homes, personal property, automobiles, small businesses, and liability; and

WHEREAS, The association's representative form of government allows each member of the association to select membership in one of the 112 branches located throughout the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Branches are organized into nine equal districts in which the members directly elect the board of directors; and

S.R. No. 60

WHEREAS, Over the years, 12 individuals have served as the association's president; Linda Schmidt, the current president, is the first female president of the association and one of the few female presidents to lead a Texas insurance company; and

WHEREAS, Current members of the board of directors are David Ross, Wayne Scholtz, Tommy Barre, Steve Klovensky, David Mueller, David French, Brian Gibson, Randy Leifeste, and Randal Hamilton; and

WHEREAS, Current officers are Lynn Brewer, Pam Lahodny, Tim McCoy, and David Weber; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby congratulate the Hochheim Prairie Farm Mutual Insurance Association on its 125th anniversary and honor the association for serving its members, past and present; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Hochheim Prairie Farm Mutual Insurance Association as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Kolkhorst

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 30, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate