SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 88

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the Abernathy High School Graduating Class of 1967 who are gathering June 16 and 17, 2017, to celebrate the 50th anniversary of their high school graduation; and

WHEREAS, This golden anniversary reunion will give the 1967 graduates an opportunity to reflect on the years gone by and on the wonderful moments they shared as they prepared themselves for the challenges of adulthood; and

WHEREAS, Abernathy High School is renowned for its numerous fine graduates who have become outstanding citizens, and the 1967 graduates have distinguished themselves through their many professional accomplishments and their notable community service endeavors; and

WHEREAS, The 1967 Abernathy High School graduating class included the following members: Margaret Davis Adams, Andre Anderson, Gary Benn, Alsires Betancur, Mary Ann Betts, Carolyn Barton Boggus, Carla Collins Brown, Robert Brown, the late Frances Burnett, the late Steve Carter, Jane Valdez DeLeon, Danny Downs, the late Peggy Klatt Enertson, Lucy Olguin Figueroa, Carol Barron Forbes, the late Doyle Fuller, Betty Tow Griffin, Steve Guerrant, Adrian Harkey, Lewis Henderson, Carol Howard Hester, Tommy Hunley, Steve Jackson, Darrell Johnson, Frankie Johnson, Jackie Judkins, Garland Knight, Redgie Beeson Knight, the late Wesley Knight, Harry Mathis, Farrel McCloud, Karen Jones McKay, James McNeil, Sondra Slough Mercandetti, Richard Montgomery, the late Dana Moore, Robert Moore, Nita Lou Tennell Murray, Roland

1

S.R. No. 88

Murray, Lanny Newton, Cindy O'Neil, Mary Davis O'Neil, Diana Moore Phillips, Gary Phillips, Jane Thompson Phillips, the late Oscar Ramos, Ernestine Recendez VanVeen, Bill Rhodes, Jerry Rice, Joe Ruiz, Margaret Salinas Montemayor, Jerry D. Sanders, the late Tommy Sanders, Edward Shadden, David Sinclair, Marilyn Smithey Smith, the late Ricky Smith, Jim Smitherman, the late Mike Smithey, Beverly Locke Taylor, Mike Thames, Peggy Klafka Thomas, the late Bobby Vannoy, Jimmy Waits, Karen Pope Waits, and Duane Walker; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Abernathy High School Graduating Class of 1967 on their many accomplishments and extend to them best wishes for a joyful and rewarding golden anniversary reunion; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Perry

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 1, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate