SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 95

WHEREAS, For more than a century, the Boy Scouts of America has helped young men build character, become responsible citizens, and develop their abilities in a wide range of pursuits, and those scouts who advance through the program to its highest rank are rewarded with the Eagle Scout insignia; and

WHEREAS, Only about six percent of all Boy Scouts earn the title of Eagle Scout, and Grayson Roach of Troop No. 772 may now count himself in that select group; in order to obtain this notable honor, specific requirements in the areas of leadership, service, and outdoor skills must be met; Eagle Scouts need to earn at least 21 merit badges, including those in first aid, camping, personal fitness, environmental science, and citizenship; an Eagle Scout must also serve as a leader both in his troop and in the completion of a project that is beneficial to a school, religious institution, or community; and

religious institution, or community; and
WHEREAS, Many Eagle Scouts go on to further distinguish
themselves in such fields as business, science, politics, and the
arts; among those accomplished individuals who have achieved
Eagle Scout status are astronaut Neil Armstrong, President Gerald
Ford, jazz musician Wynton Marsalis, film director Steven
Spielberg, and entrepreneur Sam Walton; and

WHEREAS, The Eagle Scout program fosters self-reliance, initiative, and resourcefulness, and those same qualities that have enabled Mr. Roach to attain this prestigious rank will be invaluable assets to him on the road ahead; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend Eagle Scout Grayson Roach on his outstanding achievement and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mr. Roach as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Creighton

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 1, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate