SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 106

In Memory of Evelyn Loyd Hooton

WHEREAS, Family and friends will forever treasure their memories of Evelyn Loyd Hooton, who passed away on August 3, 2016, at the age of 66; and

WHEREAS, The former Evelyn Loyd was born on October 4, 1949, in Grand Saline to Cecil and Mary Polacek Loyd, and she grew up with the companionship of three siblings; she attended East Texas State University, where she was a member of Chi Omega Sorority and Alpha Lambda Iota; and

WHEREAS, In 1971, she was joined in marriage to James Byron Hooton, and the couple became the proud parents of three sons, Joey, Mark, and Steve; later in life, Mrs. Hooton delighted in the time she spent with her five grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Living in Alba for most of her life, this admired educator taught elementary school for the Alba-Golden and Mineola Independent School Districts; in her private life, she took pleasure in reading, tending her garden, and line dancing with the Lone Star Steppers; moreover, she was a valued member of First Baptist Church, Mineola; and

WHEREAS, A devoted wife and a loving mother and grandmother, Evelyn Hooton brightened the lives of all who knew her with her cheerful disposition and her joie de vivre; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the memory of Evelyn Loyd Hooton and extend sincere condolences to the members of her

1

S.R. No. 106

family: to her husband, Jim Hooton; to her sons, Joey Hooton and his wife, Lori, Mark Hooton and his wife, Krissy, and Steve Hooton and his wife, Abby; to her brother, James Loyd; to her sister, Barbara Dawson; to her grandchildren, Thomas, Allie, Colette, Gemma, and Eason; and to her other relatives and friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family and that when the Texas Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Evelyn Loyd Hooton.

Hughes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 6, 2017, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate