SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 117

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Gerdau's Beaumont Steel Mill on the occasion of the plant's 40th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, The Beaumont Steel Mill was founded by Georgetown Steel in 1976; the steel mill produced rebar coil and wire rod for use in the construction of roads, bridges, and buildings across the state; and

WHEREAS, The Beaumont Steel Mill was acquired by Gerdau in 2004; during the ensuing years, Gerdau has become a leader in steel production in Texas and one of the largest suppliers of steel in the world; and

WHEREAS, Throughout its history, Gerdau's Beaumont Steel Mill has been led by loyal and dedicated employees; deserving of special recognition are Charles Hanson, Kirk Weatherly, Harold Bell, Ronald Wilson, Ronda Whitten, Terry Benoit, Thad Boudreaux, Greg Kelly, Willis Francis, Gerald Meulemans, Oscar Iglesias, Freddie Andrews, Jerald Cribb, David Dixon, William Payne, Lynn Spittler, Cathy Morton, Don Brockman, James Woodard, Phillip Everett, Jeffery Vines, Clarence Finch, Jack Huffman, James Sisk, David Gilchriest, Calvin Moss, Randy Mott, Keith McCauley, John Moran, William Hone, Steven Anderson, David Wilson, Gary Freeman, Daniel Brockman, and Marion Tallarita; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the managers and employees of Gerdau's Beaumont Steel Mill on their many contributions to the Beaumont community and extend to them best wishes for a memorable 40th anniversary; and, be it further

40th anniversary; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the company as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nichols, Creighton

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 6, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate